

# ENE had a great business meeting on 2/11. In case you missed it, here are some of the highlights:

- Watch your email for the Scholarship Luncheon Registration. We will be holding our Scholarship Luncheon IN PERSON! It's been a few years since we could do this, and we are happy to have the opportunity to gather and celebrate the recipients. The lunch will be March 11 from 12-3 at Papa Razzi in Wellesley, MA. I consider this to be our Chapter's crown jewel event. Please consider joining us, we would love to have the support of the whole Chapter.
- Something else will be popping up in your email soon, a Smith Family Popcorn Fundraiser! The Chapter will receive 30% of all sales generated. The proceeds will go to our general operating fund to offset rising costs associated with the Scholarship Luncheon. The fundraiser will take place online. The link will be live for about 2 weeks once we receive it. You will place your own order and pay for it through the link provided. You can choose to 1) pick up your order in Hyannis, Mashpee or Plymouth; 2) Pay for shipping to the address of your choice; or 3) Choose local pickup and coordinate with me to bring it to the Scholarship Luncheon on March 11. So grab yourself some popcorn (so many flavors to choose from) and a good book or movie and enjoy. Also makes a great gift for friends, relatives and first responders or anyone else you might like to surprise!
- Save the Date: Spring Section Dinner is Friday April 14 and the Section Meeting is Saturday April 15 at the Burlington, VT Hilton Hotel.

- Will you sponsor a new member to the Section Dinner? Last Fall, our members generously sponsored 13 new members to the Section Dinner. It was a wonderful way to welcome new members and for all of us to get acquainted. We would like to make this a regular event at Section Meetings. If you can sponsor a new member this Spring, please let me know and plan to add a new member as your guest on the Spring Section Registration Form.

Laconia Airport Events: LCI will be sponsoring a Career Fair on Saturday May 12 and Wings, Water Wheels, Touch a Truck event on May 20. If you can volunteer to work at a table for either of these events, please contact Karen Mitchell at <a href="mailto:karen.mitchell@winnaero.org">karen.mitchell@winnaero.org</a>

\*\*\* Section Award of Merit. Our chapter has the opportunity to nominate one of our members to be considered for the Section Award of Merit. This is the highest honor the Section can bestow on a member. Please send your nominations to me by February 19. A panel of no less than 3 Chapter members will consider the nominations and forward one on to Section by March 1. Attached find the guidelines for the award and the list of past award winners.

Looking forward to seeing many of you in a few weeks at the Scholarship Luncheon.

Beth Young Chair, ENE 99s 774-228-3049 Elizabethyoung1989@gmail.com

#### The Ninety-Nines, Inc. New England Section

### AWARD OF MERIT CRITERIA & GUIDELINES

Presented to an active New England Section Ninety-Nines member in recognition of her outstanding service and contribution to the field of aviation, and to The Ninety-Nines organization. This is the highest and most prestigious honor the Section can bestow on a member.

### CRITERIA FOR THE AWARD Consideration includes, but is not limited to:

- Active participation in activities for the benefit and advancement of general aviation, including the fostering, promoting, developing or implementing procedures or programs in education and career opportunities.
- Being an enthusiastic supporter of The Ninety-Nines organization by regularly attending meetings and participating in activities for the benefit and advancement of the Ninety-Nines programs locally, regionally, and internationally.
- Being an outstanding role model for women interested in aviation either as a career or as a rewarding leisure activity.

#### Special Note:

The award is given in recognition of the spirit and unselfish service given in active participation in the field of aviation and The Ninety-Nines organization. Accumulation of ratings or participation in competitive events do not, in themselves, meet the purpose of the award.

#### **ELIGIBILITY & SELECTION**

- Recipient must be an active member of the New England Section of The Ninety-Nines for 5 years prior to the year of the award.
- Nominees must be recommended in writing by a N.E. Section Chapter, and submitted to the Award of Merit Committee five weeks prior to the scheduled Spring or Fall Section meeting. Such recommendations shall outline in detail the reasons for the recommendation.

The Award of Merit Committee shall consist of a Chair and one member selected from each Chapter. Members of the Committee shall serve for one year.

The Award of Merit Committee shall study all nominations and report its findings and recommendations to the Section Executive Board no later than three (3) weeks prior to the scheduled Fall Section Meeting.

The Section Executive Board will make the final decision and authorize the presentation of the Award. The winner's name shall be placed on a bronze tab plate on the N.E. Section Award Plaque. This plaque will be presented to the winner and retained in her possession for one year, at which time, it will be returned to the Section Governor, to await presentation to the next recipient.

In addition, the award recipient will be presented a smaller, suitably engraved plaque that is hers as a permanent keepsake.

In 2014 Section members voted to award this honor to a deserving member every two years.

## New England Section 99s

# AWARD OF MERIT 1972 - 2021

- 1972 Lois Auchterlonie
- 1973 Peg Davidson
- 1974 Catherine Hiller
- 1975 Marie Lepore
- 1976 Frances Porter
- 1977 Nancy Tier
- 1978 Teddy Kenyon
- 1979 Ruth Zimmerman
- 1980 Alma Gallagher Smith
- 1981 Chris Seaver
- Jean Batchelder 1982
- Mildred Doremus 1983
- Not Given 1984
- Frankie Sutton 1985
- Lorraine Richard 1986
- Nancy Tier 1987
- Harriet Fuller 1988
- Not Given 1989
- Mary Shea 1990
- Evelyn Kropp 1991
- Anne Baddour 1992
- Aileen Anderson 1993
- Sara Hayden 1994
- Not Given 1995/6
- Billie Downing 1997 Not Given Laurie Reeves
- 1998
- 1999
- 2000/3 Not Given Mary Build
- 2004 2005-11 Not Given
- 2012 Pat Theberge
- Georgia Pappas Katharine Barr 2013 2014
- (Approved to give every 2 years)
- 2016 Martha Dunbar
- 2017/18 Not Given 2019
- Glenna Blackwell
- 2020/21 Not Given 2022
- Not Given